PDA

View Full Version : What causes speed to fold on the turf?

bellsbendboy
06-11-2006, 08:37 PM
Sometimes speed holds on the turf, sometimes not! Can anyone give me a handle on this? Thanks. BBB

Dave
06-11-2006, 08:46 PM
breeding or race fractions would be an early couple of guesses.

sealord
06-11-2006, 08:58 PM
I have no personal experience with horses, but is it possible the grass simply takes more energy to run on?

I would also think the tighter turns might take more energy to negotiate for the animal.

John
06-11-2006, 09:21 PM
I am only guessing at this
although Grass is as natural footing. Horses seem to get tired more quickly on the turf . Most turf horse will give a good run in the last part of the race.Front runners that run fast give it up in the stretch. A closer run there best in the last 1/8. Sometimes the pace is slow and the frront runner walks the first part and has something left to hold off the closers.

betovernetcapper
06-11-2006, 09:23 PM
I think the level of dampness in the grass has a lot to do with it. Good or yeilding turf tracks seem to be very taxing on early speed.

Dave
06-11-2006, 10:01 PM
I think you guys are maybe confusing the race as a whole w/the performance of one horse.

just because you see a lot of closers running well in a race doesn't mean the speed is 'folding'.
conversely, it's more likely that the closers run better late fractions on turf than dirt.

I don't chart all these fractions, so these are all just guesses -- anybody have internal quarter comparisns for frontrunners on the 2 surfaces?

are we including grass sprints in this question?

kenwoodallpromos
06-11-2006, 10:08 PM
I think the level of dampness in the grass has a lot to do with it. Good or yeilding turf tracks seem to be very taxing on early speed.
I agree with water as a major factor.
Also, does anyone know if there is banking and how much on the turf?

Hank
06-11-2006, 11:17 PM