PDA

View Full Version : Self introduction and data query

prank
04-29-2006, 06:34 PM
Thanks for reading and for any suggestions.

I'm a statistics PhD student (please, hold the jeers), and working on research in the field of rank prediction. My favorite example when explaining this to others is horse racing. Naturally, asset allocation (betting ;-)) is a follow-on issue when gambling or making decisions about the ranking, but I'm sticking to ranking for now.

I've been collecting data for a ranking project for this summer, from fields like computer science, sports, economics, marketing, entertainment, etc., but I'm at a loss to identify high dimensional data for horse racing (i.e. beyond just name, jockey, post, track, date, weather, and a few other variables - say 15 or so in total, but lacking breeding, prior performance, etc.). I've scouted sources like Equibase, etc., but I doubt that many places will provide academic access to their data. I also know that distributing their data is against the license agreements, so I'm at a loss to see if there is a way forward in developing and validating models with racing data.

So, maybe I seem like a fish out of water here. What do you think? I could see potentially working in collaboration or an internship with some company, and using my research with their data. I've done that in the past with several well known technology firms; and I worked in applied statistics for years (actually, mostly working on ranking :)) before returning to grad school. So, I've got a bit more experience than most random grad students.

If this is the wrong forum, board, or alley for this pursuit, I'm glad to hear of where else I might seek information. If seeking racing data is a bad idea, that's also good to know early.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

Prank (or pRank :cool: )

kenwoodallpromos
04-29-2006, 06:49 PM