PDA

View Full Version : Dime Supers and the Derby

rastajenk
04-22-2006, 03:40 AM
Do you think they'll offer them? Do you think they should?

I don't know how often some of you get to a track these days (as opposed to staying put in the friendly confines of your own homes), but it is now not uncommon to get stuck behind someone rattling off a bunch of ten-cent straight superfecta numbers for what seems like an eternity. I've been punching tickets now for several months, and from my side of the window nothing is as frustrating as seeing serious bettors queuing up behind a guy with a long list of supers. And that's at a punky little harness facility. Now imagine Derby Day, with all its novice participants (and inexperienced clerks as well), and the allure of striking big on the cheap, and 20 horses to choose from, and not knowing how to box/part-wheel, and a handful of dimes, and.....well, it's a Perfect Set-Up for Parimutuel Gridlock, if you ask me. Do you think the racing powers have considered the negative ramifications of tens of thousands getting shut out by grandma and her change purse?

Indulto
04-22-2006, 04:09 AM
Do you think they'll offer them? Do you think they should?