PDA

View Full Version : software pace line selection

traynor
04-14-2006, 03:41 PM
I would appreciate input from current users regarding the pace line selection methods used in their favorite applications. There seems to be a lot of "automatic" pace line selection, and I am curious how the various applications deal with the issue. How much option do you have in which lines are used for comparison, and if the selection process is automated, do you feel that it is more or less accurate than you would be selecting pace lines on your own?

Last question; does any application have (or does anyone still use) the option to select and average multiple pace lines?
Good Luck

sjk
04-14-2006, 04:00 PM
For what it's worth my opinion is that you are far better off to calculate a pace line using all available information rather than to select one.

Hank
04-14-2006, 07:16 PM
I've been useing AIO v6 for a few months so I'm not exactly a power user.But I'm getting there. The program auto selects pacelines based on four user slected settings 1. last race 2.best of similar3.auto[program uses results to refine paceline selections]4.custom, user sets cumtomized guidelines for paceline selection.I've tested mostly in the auto and best of similar mode,and the program does a decent job of paceline selection MOST of the time. However I select my own contenders and pacelines most of the time.I'm still very much learning to make best use of the program But I feel it has great potential,with regard to paceline secection I'm thinking runing TWO lines one to determine the horses best case senerio type race and one to TRY and project how it will perform TODAY might be the way to go.I dont think a program will ever select pacelines on a par with a good capper. Many lines are easy and jump off the page, the program will nail these type, but the tricky head scratchers the program has no chance on these type.

Tom
04-14-2006, 11:33 PM
HTR has 6 paceline modes:
Last race
Best of last three