PDA

View Full Version : Professional Gamblers

Nicole
03-07-2006, 11:34 AM
I see that 17 members voted that they were Professional Gamblers.

Do you file as a Professional Gambler? Do you have any advice on doing so?

Losing my personal deductions by claiming winnings/losses takes a huge bite out of my profit.

ecaroff
03-07-2006, 12:57 PM
I simply fill out a Schedule C showing the total dollars wagered and total dollars collected - usually over $500,000/year. However, if you show a loss then set the bottom line to $0 because you cannot show a loss. Include a note on the form saying this. I also may show the numbers of days I attended the track or bet over the Internet, the average wager and collect per day. You can also deduct any expenses that you have had. I've been doing this for over 25 years with no problem. Some states don't allow you to deduct Schedule A on your state taxes and thus if you record the information on 1040 and Schedule A you'll end up paying state taxes on everything wagered. You could actually end up owing more state tax then what you paid the feds.

twindouble
03-07-2006, 02:45 PM
I simply fill out a Schedule C showing the total dollars wagered and total dollars collected - usually over $500,000/year. However, if you show a loss then set the bottom line to $0 because you cannot show a loss. Include a note on the form saying this. I also may show the numbers of days I attended the track or bet over the Internet, the average wager and collect per day. You can also deduct any expenses that you have had. I've been doing this for over 25 years with no problem. Some states don't allow you to deduct Schedule A on your state taxes and thus if you record the information on 1040 and Schedule A you'll end up paying state taxes on everything wagered. You could actually end up owing more state tax then what you paid the feds.