PDA

View Full Version : New to the Sport - Where to start?

2000_ls1
03-01-2006, 01:18 AM
I am 23 years old and my wife convinced me to go to the track on Saturday, Febuary 25th, 2006. We hit a Tri-fecta, ? spelling, for a little over $200 and I guess I am hooked now. What I would like to know is where I can get some of the info, how to read and understand it, what you guys would do from the start if you were starting this now?

Like I said I am very new to the sport, 1 time only, and I would like to dig a little deeper into it. I have always been into car racing, alot different from horses obviously.

What do you look for when betting?

I have done quite a bit of research and have found several web-sites that have pay-for tips. Are they worth it? They all say they are but...

Anything else I should know?

I saw Lawyer Ron run in the 10th race at Oaklawn Saturday, is he the one that was related to Smarty Jones or was it another horse in the same race? I heard the announcer say something about his brother running, ????, also about the trainer/rider/owner too. Just curious.

I am the type of guy who will research everything to death and know all of the angles, my wife says that's good for horse racing, so where do I start?

2000_ls1
03-01-2006, 01:22 AM
Oh, I will be attending Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, AR if that makes a difference. And the web-site tip thing I was talking about is Backstretch Barney I think. Is that worth subscribing to? I think it was $75 for half of a season, March and April. I would be able to go the races 2 or 3 days a week. 1 weekday and 1 weekend day. I work at the railroad on call 24/7/365.

PaceAdvantage
03-01-2006, 01:29 AM
Here's a tip. In your first post or two, try not to mention a commercial venture. It will avoid all those nasty "you're just a shill" innuendos that are bound to crop up, plus it will add immediately to your "street cred" around here.....

2000_ls1
03-01-2006, 01:36 AM