PDA

View Full Version : Need help in Multi Logit Regression

wkcalvin
02-06-2006, 03:39 PM
HI, every body, I am a newbie to use SPSS Multinomial Logit Regression for handicap, I have a BIG PROBLEM when using the SPSS result.

For example:

Step 1

I use SPSS read the data from database and the following coefficients is come out

--------------B
Career Starts -0.008
Finish Position 0.01

Step 2

I use this 2 coefficients to calculate the probabilities of a race, the formula will like that:

--------Starts Finished P Total Mark

Horse A 10 25 ------------(10*-0.008)+(25*0.01)=0.17

Horse B 20 -10 -----------(20*-0.008)+(-10*0.01)=-0.26

Horse C 1 1 --------------(1*-0.008)+(1*0.01)=0.002

Probability

Horse A 0.17/-0.088(sum of ttl marks) = -1.93

Horse B = 2.954

Horse C = -0.022

Questions:

I think my formula or calculation is totally wrong because the probability can not be LESS THAN 1 or GREATER than 1

Can any body help me in this case??? I haven't any idea.

Thank you very much

garyoz
02-06-2006, 03:50 PM
I think the problem is probably with your data input, maybe your variable definitions? Also high correlation between predictor variables can lead to instability in the model, including the signs (+,-). I used to know SPSS much better. Use it or lose it. If you isolate a specific issue I can probably get it answered.

GameTheory
02-06-2006, 03:55 PM
You're leaving the "logit" part out of the equation. You should also probably have a constant that comes out of the SPSS report.

The final form of the equation should be:

p = 1 / ( 1 + exp( -(CONSTANT + FEATURE1 * COEF1 + FEATURE2 * COEF2) ))

Then normalize.

exp() is the exponential function, which is the opposite of ln(), the natural log.

Google "logistic regression"...

wkcalvin
02-06-2006, 04:00 PM
You're leaving the "logit" part out of the equation. You should also probably have a constant that comes out of the SPSS report.

The final form of the equation should be: