PDA

View Full Version : Newbie at the game

penguinfan
07-03-2002, 03:33 PM
Thanks to all who read and reply. I am relatively new at the ponies and the biggest thing that has me scratching my head is just how to make money at this game, before you laugh and dismiss me as some lunatic, here me out. I know a guy on the internet that routinly picks about 4 winners as his top choice per day at the track he handicaps, sometimes as many as 7-8 out of ten in his top 2, but just how do you go about wagering them? On days he hits say 4 top choices (which from my humble understanding is not bad out of ten races) a $100.00 flat bet on top would still lose money alot of days, yea he catches some short prices, but thats the horse that won. Is that winning percentage too low, or is flat betting a top choice the wrong thing to due? I have figured out the ROI on dutching the top 2 plays as well and again you come out behind most days. There has got to be a way to wager at 40% winners that would show a profit, right? Again, I am new at this and have been following the horses closely for about 6 weeks now, so be kind ;)

penguinfan
:confused: :confused: :confused:

cj
07-03-2002, 03:42 PM
Seems to me your friend is probably selecting nearly all favorites. There are many ways to beat the game, but selecting low priced horses in every race is not one of them. If he is really good at selecting legitimate favorites, he should avoid races where he isn't so sure. Think of it like this-if I select one horse at 10-1 who wins, I am ahead of someone who selects 4 winners paying $3, $4, $5, and $6. Hope that gives you some food for thought.

CJ

ranchwest
07-03-2002, 03:43 PM
Let's start with a simple example.

If the average payoff on your winners is $4.00, then that is double your money on an individual race. That means that to make a profit you must hit over 50% winners.

If we double the take to $8, then we need over 25% winners.