PDA

View Full Version : Computer Purchase Question

bobbyb
12-05-2005, 06:11 AM
Need Your Valued Opinion re: Computer Purchase

I am looking at a STANDARD (Tower style) Systemax AMD Athlon 64bit 3400 Processor +/2.40Ghz; 512kb of L2 Cache w/Hyper Transport Tech running on K8M800 motherboard; 200GB Serial-ATA Hard Drive; Mem Type: DDR; The interface is SATA; 1GB High Speed Mem with 10/100Mbps Net Adapt for High Speed; wireless keyboard; 3 PCI slots-1AGP and 4 Expansion slots. MADE in the USA!!

My questions are:
I am not too familiar with with the Athlon 64, nor Systemax - Would you all consider this a good starter for me?
Is there anything additional I should add or look for when purchasing?
I have zero knowledge re: Athlon 64 as I have been an Intel user since day one - Your thoughts re: pro's/cons would be appreciated.

Thank You for taking the time to answer,

bobbyb

xfile
12-05-2005, 06:58 AM
Need Your Valued Opinion re: Computer Purchase

I am looking at a STANDARD (Tower style) Systemax AMD Athlon 64bit 3400 Processor +/2.40Ghz; 512kb of L2 Cache w/Hyper Transport Tech running on K8M800 motherboard; 200GB Serial-ATA Hard Drive; Mem Type: DDR; The interface is SATA; 1GB High Speed Mem with 10/100Mbps Net Adapt for High Speed; wireless keyboard; 3 PCI slots-1AGP and 4 Expansion slots. MADE in the USA!!

My questions are:
I am not too familiar with with the Athlon 64, nor Systemax - Would you all consider this a good starter for me?
Is there anything additional I should add or look for when purchasing?
I have zero knowledge re: Athlon 64 as I have been an Intel user since day one - Your thoughts re: pro's/cons would be appreciated.

Thank You for taking the time to answer,

bobbyb