PDA

View Full Version : Academic Research Project : seeking data

akgandhi
11-03-2005, 11:08 PM
Hello group :

John Swetye recommended I post my inquiry on this discussion board, and he in turn was recomended to me by William Ziemba.

I am a PhD student at the University of Chicago in Economics, and along with my collaborators at Columbia University, we have a new modelling approach to thinking about how partimutuel odds at horse tracks are competitively determined via a "supply=demand" type process. We also have a new way to conceptualize the relationship between odds in a race and the underlying rates of return on the horses.

I have a need for data on an many races as possible, possibly in the
60,000 plus range, where in each race I get to see the number of horses
running, the odds on each horse, and which horse wins.

I tried going through equibase to obtain this type of information, but
it is rather expensive - I was wondering whether anyone in this group would have data available of this nature. If so, would you be willing to share the data and/or collaborate on the project at hand? Thanks in advanece for any advice any of you could offer for how to proceed in carrying out this research.

Thanks,
Amit Gandhi

BillW
11-03-2005, 11:44 PM
Hello group :

John Swetye recommended I post my inquiry on this discussion board, and he in turn was recomended to me by William Ziemba.

I am a PhD student at the University of Chicago in Economics, and along with my collaborators at Columbia University, we have a new modelling approach to thinking about how partimutuel odds at horse tracks are competitively determined via a "supply=demand" type process. We also have a new way to conceptualize the relationship between odds in a race and the underlying rates of return on the horses.

I have a need for data on an many races as possible, possibly in the
60,000 plus range, where in each race I get to see the number of horses
running, the odds on each horse, and which horse wins.