PDA

View Full Version : Dangerous Non-Contenders?

JustMissed
06-14-2002, 11:11 AM
:) I have enjoyed the thread about picking contenders but when I got beat at Charlestown last nignt by the only E horse carrying 7lbs less and going wire to wire, I got to thinking that I had better not get too mechanical and go back to looking at every horse to see if there was anything I missed. (I'm very new to the game so I realize most of you guys with experience would pick the E horse anyway).

Anyway, my question is: Do you guys use any sort of checklist(mental or written) to evaluate the non-contenders before you make your final picks?

Also, did anybody ever come up with what exactly is the red-scan qualifying technique?

Any help you can give me will be appreciated. I'm trying to learn to handicap using the TSN PP's only before I move on to computer assistance. It takes a hell of a lot longer to make the picks but I feel like I'm learning more this way.

Thanks

GameTheory
06-14-2002, 11:38 AM
A lone E horse should never be considered a non-contender.

In fact, any method of rating horses that doesn't consider pace or running styles AT ALL will often confound you.

The red-scan technique is Jim Lehane's in the new edition of his book. Find it at:

http://www.free-horseracing-info.com

JustRalph
06-14-2002, 11:54 AM
I learned from my Father to ask one question: