PDA

View Full Version : Another PA'r published by DRF Letter to Editor

Suff
09-26-2005, 08:57 PM
http://www.drf.com/news/article/68814.html

Internet prohibitions make an overly tangled web

I have closed my BrisBet account. My XpressBet account was closed by order of the attorney general of the state of Connecticut, simply because I am a Connecticut resident and the attorney general says Internet betting on horse races is illegal. Next I will close my Connecticut Off-Track Betting phone account - in protest. I have a couple of other accounts I intend to close, too, because if I don't close them, the state of Connecticut will.

It simply is not worth the hassle to break the law for a game that takes, on average, 17 percent of the money I wager. Sure, my chances of getting fined are small, but it could happen. I'm not a big enough bettor that I will lose my livelihood. If I were a big bettor, I'd move to England, Costa Rica, the islands, or someplace with a more liberal attitude to wagering.

Funny, I can bet on the Internet at Hedgestreet.com for as little as a couple of dollars whether crude oil will close above or below $65 tomorrow, but I can't use the Internet to bet on a horse in the 10th at Mountaineer. John Swetye
Darien, Conn

highnote
09-28-2005, 08:47 AM
DRF edited my letter to the editor. Not much. But what is interesting is that they took out my line "Just another nail in the coffin of racing." (see my actual unedited letter below)

Now read this quote from the latest Steve Crist article. He quotes a New York Daily News editorial. The writer of that letter also used the "nail in the coffin" analogy.

It probably has no significance. But it is ironic. Maybe the "nail in the coffin" analogy is becoming a tired cliché?