PDA

View Full Version : What should I read next?

rngrq
08-31-2005, 09:10 AM
Been basicaly lurking around and learning a lot from this site. I'm fairly new to this and am slowly getting confused with all the info out there. I just finished reading Brad Free's Handicapping 101, and have Davidowitz's Betting Thoroughbreds, Beyer's Picking Winners, and Scatoni/Fornatale's Six Secrets of Successful Bettors. I thought Free's book was pretty good but I'll have to read again because I'm not sure I fully understood all the concepts. I've gone through the first few chapters of both Beyer's and Davidowitz's book and just confused myself. Need some help getting pointed in the right direction. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

headhawg
08-31-2005, 10:25 AM
mgrq,

You might want to read this recent thread:

http://paceadvantage.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20915

My recommendations are (in no particular order): Modern Pace Handicapping (Brohamer), Commonsense Handicapping and Winning Thoroughbred Strategies (Mitchell), Money Secrets at the Racetrack (Meadow), Winner's File (Kuck), Thoroughbred Cycles (Cramer), and the good handicapping threads on this board. Excellent 'cappers here. :)

I've gotten a lot out of the Blog and archived items about pace at Randy Giles' site www.paceappraiser.com.

Good luck.

HH

AQUEBUCKS
08-31-2005, 10:29 AM
If you participate in this forum, I, (as would many) suggest "Modern Pace Handicapping" by Tom Brohammer.

Aquebucks

Dave Schwartz
08-31-2005, 11:13 AM
Dr. William QUirin's 1979 book, WInning at the Races is a must-read in my opinion.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

JimG
08-31-2005, 11:16 AM
What topic do you want to read about? Pace, Class , Form, Energy, Jockey/Trainers, Computer capping, money management, figs, value, ?

I suggest using the search key here on Pace Advantage and read to your heart's content. In my opinion, some of the best ideas are right here on this board.

Jim

rngrq
08-31-2005, 07:27 PM