PDA

View Full Version : evaluating class

traynor
08-20-2005, 05:51 PM
Any opinions, preferences, or ideas about evaluating class? I have been using Quinn's condition levels for several years with fair results, and I would really like to build on the concept--perhaps merging it with earnings, purses, class levels by track, or some other approach--that would essentially give an accurate means of comparing the class factor in past performances. Any suggestions, or methods you may have developed that you are willing to share?
Good luck

oddswizard
08-20-2005, 06:09 PM
I have a simple Class formula I use for handicapping purposes. First I go by the distance of the race. Class means nothing to me in sprint races as I handicap by Pace. In Route races of 1 mile or over here is the formula: In Claiming races a horse has to have won or came within 1 length of winning at a higher class: Assuming a distance race has a $20000 claiming price, I review all of the horses that have won or came within 1 length at a higher claiming price or under allowance conditions. So a horse that qualifies at $30000 claiming qualifies as a class horse dropping in price. I circle 30 over the past performances. I am looking for 3 class horses in the race. If a qualified horse has run in an allowance race he can run within 2 lengths of winning since it is a higher class race. If the race was alw 40000 I circle A-40 on the pp's. You will find that one of your top 3 horses will win 70% of distance races with this formula. Works for me. If the race is on the turf you must use turf pp's only to select the Class.

Tom
08-20-2005, 08:33 PM
Traynor - using Quinn's condition ideas is a good way to go - add pars to that and you will be able to tell which races are better at the same class.