PDA

View Full Version : A few questions about converting audio files

trying2win
08-15-2005, 03:35 AM
If anyone has experience in the following areas, could you help me with some suggestions please? Would appreciate any help you can give me.

1. If I wanted to convert some music files on some of my old cassette tapes to a CD, can that done? If so, how? What kind of equipment and accessories would I need? What procedures would I need to follow then?

2. Also, is there a way of converting music or sound files on a cassette tape to an mp3 file format? If so how?

Thanks,

T2W

Pace Cap'n
08-15-2005, 06:28 AM
I have no personal experience with this, but some guys on another forum say it's the nuts. I think the standard edition for $11.95 would do what you want.

Sound Recorder (http://www.highcriteria.com/)

gillenr
08-15-2005, 07:41 AM
6 years ago, I converted an audio CD track to be my Windows start-up sound with only W98 & whatever the software for my sound card was: it was nothing exotic.

Dave Schwartz
08-15-2005, 11:57 AM
I do this stuff all the time.

AT our house we have a "music server" that vends music via computer all over the house. Currently we've got about 800 albums on line.

So, let me take a crack at this...

1. If I wanted to convert some music files on some of my old cassette tapes to a CD, can that done? If so, how? What kind of equipment and accessories would I need? What procedures would I need to follow then?

2. Also, is there a way of converting music or sound files on a cassette tape to an mp3 file format? If so how?

To accomplish this all you need is a tape deck or player with headphone jack. You connect the headphone jack (which is stereo) to the line-in of your sound card.

(Note that using the line-out from your tape player will cause the output to be a two-cable deal, which you will then have to adapt to one cable, causing you to lose the stereo.)