PDA

View Full Version : Private lessons -- follow up question

andicap
06-15-2005, 10:22 AM
OK, thanks for the responses. Very very interesting discussion which raised another question in my mind. Again just curiousity, nothing more. I'm always trying to think of ways to introduce new people to the game and more importantly, keep them involved by improving their skills.

-- Would you ever pay for handicapping lessons if he could prove to you through records or IRS reports or giving you a series of picks, etc., that he was a winning player? So assume he is a winning player.

-- How much per hour would you be willing to pay? Or even a flat fee on retainer?

Private lessons of course would be more expensive than ones in small groups of no more than five (enough to insure individual attention.)

I'm thinking $500-$1,000 per hour mentioned in the main thread is patently ridiculous considering top lawyers bill at only $300/hour. As a free-lance journalist I'm happy if I make at least $45/hour (I think in terms of hourly rates not words when I get work) and ecstatic if it reaches $60/hour.

I would think a winning player would be happy to get the extra income with a very minimal risk of having his prices jeopardized since he is not writing a book for the masses, but teaching a select few. And unlike handicapping there is no risk in giving lessons. (except for dissatisfied customers demanding their money back.)

Besides if you teach to bet by finding the best value it almost doesn't matter because if the 6-1 "overlays" all of sudden start getting bet that would inflate the odds on the solid 3-1 horses and make THEM the overlays.

BillW
06-15-2005, 10:33 AM
Andi,

I would think it would be a more important issue of whether this mythical person had the ability to teach (as mentioned before in previous thread). Proof of being a winner would be a first step, but still no reassurance of any substantial investment being worthwhile.