PDA

View Full Version : Derby a Fast Pace?

GR1@HTR
05-05-2002, 12:29 PM
Let me begin by saying that I am not an expert of times by any means? Why? I don't look at raw times, just adjusted pace...but lets go on...

The derby pace times are as follows:
2F...23.25
4F...47.04

To me this does not seem fast or slow. If you go back and look at all the PP of the KY Derby entries, this is about the norm. There are faster fractional times on the PP's but they are at 8F distances and on "faster" tracks. To me the above times for the CD surface seem to be fair to fast-fair. BTW, if you look at all the other graded stakes races run during this meet (shorter distances) this is the fastest pace time for the meet.

Thoughts?

GR1@HTR
05-05-2002, 12:51 PM
Guess a better title for the subject would be "Derby a slow pace?"...

cj
05-05-2002, 01:31 PM
As I posted in another thread, the pace this year was honest, not fast or slow, just like it was last year. This is based on actual pars for the 10f races at Churchill.

CJ

superfecta
05-05-2002, 03:06 PM
Since I don't use early fractions in routes,I think the better fraction is the 6 furlong mark.WE ran a 1:11 1/5 .This is pretty good for the distance,and considering he wasn't asked much in the stretch,points to the fact he is a dominate horse .It could also say he's peaking at the right time.He ran 2 seconds faster at the 6f mark than he did at SPT.No one pressed him,he slowed down the early pace,and turnedv it on at the 6f pole.Seen it happen before,think a speed duel will happen,it doesn't and speed holds up.Maybe PC rider won't let WE do that again,maybe MDO had traffic trouble or tried to rate,so he wasn't involved early.Interesting thought for Preakness.

andicap
05-05-2002, 04:20 PM
Weren't times for the day much faster than normal all around? If so than 1:11 and change would be a bit on the slow (but hardly dragging) side.
Anyone know what the variant was?

cj
05-05-2002, 04:54 PM
Andicap,