PDA

View Full Version : William Scott's "Total Victory At the Track"

DarkDream
05-27-2005, 06:04 PM
I'm new to handicapping, and I have been reading bits and pieces from "Total Victory At the Track."

Some of the comments that William Scott makes seems incredulous to me.

For example, in the chapter titled, "Advantages Across the Lines: Social Security," he goes on to state that he is compelled to call his method, "Social Security" because it is so reliable that by using the technique, "you should regularly and steadily win 50% and more of all the playable races of this kind."

He goes on in the chapter to talk about a study he did of 200 races at Laurel and Pimlico where he found a total of 106 plays, got 54 winning horses at a 51% win rate, and with a standard $2 be, he would have made a 66% return on investment.

This book was published in 1988 and is now over 15 years old.

My question to anyone out there, is that did this system ever really work as he promulgates it? Does anybody still use it?

Are any of his ratings (PCR, Ability Time and so on) been researched and shown to show respectable win rates and ROIs?

Any comments would be great?

--DarkDream

kev
05-27-2005, 06:17 PM
I'll tell you what, I've used alot of different capping tools and method's and systems, and Scott's books are some of the best and I did very well with them. Also I got alot out of them to help out on my own little capping method I once had. I have two books of his, total victory at the track and Investing at the racetrack.

DarkDream
05-27-2005, 06:37 PM
Kev,

Thanks for your input. If you don't mind me asking, could you qualify more on how well you did.

Kev, were you able to make a profit using his system over lets say 50-100 races? Did you have a win percentage of 50% or more?

I'm just curious whether or not William L. Scott was just inflating his figures or whether there was any basis to reality to his claims.

--DarkDream

kev
05-27-2005, 06:49 PM