PDA

View Full Version : different causation

46zilzal
05-11-2005, 12:33 AM
Who would think that differing a bit would alter stride that much?

http://www.bitlessbridle.com/article2.html

RXB
05-11-2005, 12:50 AM
Dr. Cook has been pushing his bitless bridle for a few years. Hasn't had many takers. Not being a vet, I can't say whether this is due to a lack of real benefits from his invention, or just the unwillingness/inability of the racing industry to recognize a good thing. (Hmmm... now that I think about the racing industry's past record, probably the latter.)

Tuffmug
05-11-2005, 02:14 AM
Very interesting reading Thank you for sharing.

DJofSD
05-11-2005, 03:08 AM
A good horse-person will try various bits to find the right bit. I suspect, though, that some trainers equate a better bit with more "control" in an attempt to overcome training problems. Trying to get a horse to do something by using a more severe bit is counter productive and likely will lead to the breakdown of the horse. Poor training methods and trying to control a horse through it's mouth with severe bits do cause jumpers and horses on the flat to break down with tendon and ligament injuries. And these horses at not being trained "at speed", they're being trained in the walk, trot and canter, not a gallop.