PDA

View Full Version : Homemade Brohamer-espue database

sealord
05-10-2005, 09:45 PM
Hello All-

Was hoping to employ some of you fellow Sartin/Brohamer fans out there. I'm still new to the pace handicapping game, and after reading Modern Pace Handicapping about 89 times, I've decided I'd like to create a homespun db to handle some of the calculations.
I'm not too skillful with database/spreadsheet applications, and am curious if you more advanced 'cappers out there have given it a go. I'm specifically interested in the program computing all fraction times, as well as early pace, average pace, sustained pace, and percent E.
I'm not too concerned about downloading online PPs into the 'base, since I really only play the horses occasionally. I guess I would just enter them into the computer and go from there.
While on the subject, didn't Beyer's 120 figure of Bellamy Rd. in the Wood seem a bit suspect? According to the Sartin/Brohamer methodology, his figure was superior, but not by astronomic proportions. I also tip my hat to the thousands of smart pace handicappers (such as myself) who gave Bellamy no chance. I also must give a bit of credit to my wife for putting at least a couple of bucks on Giacomo, although she just thought he was handsome, lol.

Thanks for your time, and I look forward to hearing back from you guys. I love this site, thanks to the intelligent posters.

Jeff

46zilzal
05-11-2005, 12:03 AM
at yahoogroups.com there are TWO groups that can help VDCMessengerService or Sartin ALums...but the datbase approach is just to time consuming...learn to be a holist (study races) not a reductionist (study the horse's records)

hurrikane
05-11-2005, 07:57 AM
I would say learn to be a 'whatever it takes to make the money' ist.

with a db you can churn 100s of thousands through the windows every year and not have to sit and look at every friggin race to do it.

just mo

richrosa
05-11-2005, 09:59 AM