PDA

View Full Version : Programming a Paper and Pencil Method

trying2win
04-12-2005, 01:24 AM
I've seen a lot of paper and pencil methods over the years. Most of them were useless. But, I have run across 2 or 3 of them that had some merit. With a little tweaking of the rules, some of these better methods were not that bad. Problem was, even when I found the odd, good method, they were too time-consuming to figure out the contenders. Surely there must be some different ways to speed up this process. Since I'm not a computer programmer, here's where my questions come in...

--If a person wanted to program a commercial paper and pencil method for their own use, how would they go about it? Hire a programmer I guess, but...

--Are there copyright considerations to consider here as well, even if I only wanted to speed up the process by putting the method in EXCEL or have it programmed onto a software disk? Again, this would be only for my own personal use.

Thanks,

T2W

Zaf
04-12-2005, 01:30 AM
In Equisim you can program many different angles into formula templates. You can then run the angles and test them out on present and past racing cards. If you have an .xrd file (exotic results file) for a particular race card you can see how your angle would of done on a particular race card instantly. There are almost no limits to the possibilities. The feature is called the FV (Formula View) in the Equisim program. There is a bunch of info on the Equisim board over at www.thorotech.com

ZAFONIC

BillW
04-12-2005, 01:42 AM
Re. copyright: look at the paper included with the shipment of the method. Probably not a problem though.