PDA

View Full Version : Question

Kreed
03-01-2005, 06:03 PM
Any views on whether its OK for marrieds to have separate checking accts?
I say YES. A joint acct + my own acct. this issue came up in the NY TIMES,
i think, but before that it surfaced with me & Solange, my wife. (April 26 is
our 2nd year of Bliss) ... anyways, also I asked before, but once again, any
thoughts on Larry Summers' views that women might be just Inferior to Guys
in science & math. Once again, I say YES, he's right. (i got my BS degree in
finance & acctg, with a ba in .... drum rolls please, FILM. lol, i still can't recall
if a proton is + or what, and who cares? so, i'm a non-science guy at heart.
yet, i think summers was onto something.

kenwoodallpromos
03-02-2005, 12:32 AM
yes

sq764
03-02-2005, 08:18 AM
My wife and I would be long divorced if we didn't get seperate checking accounts..

When we get paid, we put the bill $$ into the joint account, the money into the baby's savings account, buy the baby a bond, and put a set amount into our investment accounts.. The rest is for each of us to do as we want..

If she wants to buy $500 in shoes, then go nuts.. If I want to buy $500 in crack (or horses), the so be it.. (But somehow each time I cash out on Youbet, she tends to get some.. how is that..)

Before we got married, we fought over money so much it was sickening..

cj
03-02-2005, 09:23 AM
My wife and I have never had different accounts. Always the same bank accounts, and the same credit card accounts. We have nothing to hide from each other. It always amazes me when I hear of couples that have separate accounts. I figured it couldn't be a good sign, but maybe it works for some.

I think its BS about the math and science thing. You can't really generalize about such things. There are many, many brilliant female mathemeticians and scientists.

ps...Derek, we know you didn't get you degree in English! :D

sq764
03-02-2005, 09:55 AM