PDA

View Full Version : Question on constructing your own web site

Doc
02-26-2005, 03:15 PM
How do you go about making your own web site? I have Comcast cable as my Internet provider and they give me some rudimentary tools to build a very, very dumbed-down "personal" web page, but I was wondering what steps to take if I want to make a professional one. If any of you can point me in the right direction, it would be appreciated.

Doc

Suff
02-26-2005, 04:30 PM
I'm no expert and hopefully more guys can help you out..

But check and see if you can use an FTP program to upload pages onto or into your server space. FTP = File transfer Protocol.

Then get yourself a decent HTML editor and you can build a good site on your desktop and UPload it into your server space.

IF Comcast forces you to use thier Template...Its pretty cheap to rent 100 megs of space on a server anywhere...

btw... You can get freeware and/or shareware at www.tucows.com

You can pick up both the FTP program and an HTML editor at Tucows for Nothing...

I have'nt built a www site in a few years so I have a feeling my information might be antiquated. But checking out Tucows is worth a start.

JustRalph
02-26-2005, 04:41 PM
This link is just the basics.....on how it works.

http://www.mediacollege.com/internet/intro/thewww3.html

I use Frontpage........from Microsoft.The latest version is pretty good. The older versions....were a mess if you weren't a computer type.

There are are other apps.......like.........Dreamweaver..........but they have a longer learning curve.

I can write html........but plain hate it. So I cheat. There are other programs that allow you to cheat..........I love Flash.......but don't want to learn it. So I bought a program that has built in templates.........like these. I just throw in the graphics and the text........pretty easy.

www.spikespatio.com (http://www.spikespatio.com/)

www.columbuscool.com (http://www.columbuscool.com/)