PDA

View Full Version : Pardon my ignorance - What's a Quarter Crack?

Glitchy
02-14-2005, 11:14 PM
Baffert's "best" TC horse did not run due to a "quarter crack".

Please excuse my noviceness (if that's a word) cuz I am somewhat new to the sport, but "enquiring minds want to know"....What's a "quarter crack"

I await not only your explanation, but the obligatory scathing posts about what an idiot I am because I did not know the answer (actually that doesn't happen as much on PA's site :) ).

Glitchy

Tom
02-14-2005, 11:33 PM
It is the guy who takes the snap from center. Donavan McNabe is a quater-crack. :D

Seriously, it a small crack in the hoof that spreads slightly when the horse puts pressure on it, causing pain. It can be fixed by trimming and filling with epoxy like material.

BillW
02-15-2005, 01:25 AM
Quarter Crack? I thought that was a new line of Jeans from Old Navy :eek:.

Dan Montilion
02-15-2005, 01:43 AM
Can be purchased at 5th and Mission in Frisco.

Dan Montilion

karlskorner
02-15-2005, 08:33 AM
Is a vertical split in the wall of the hoof which results from a dry or brittle hoof or improper shoeing. Takes about 12 months for growth of new toe, the heel grows in less than half that time. Plastic patches have produced good results in some cases

betchatoo
02-15-2005, 10:14 AM
It's what you get for $25 from a hundred dollar hooker

PaceAdvantage
02-15-2005, 10:21 AM
Enough already. Not all of you were born to be a comedian....

rrbauer
02-15-2005, 10:24 AM
How would we know without providing the opportunity?

PaceAdvantage
02-15-2005, 10:35 AM
That's what off-topic is for....

CryingForTheHorses
02-15-2005, 09:09 PM
Baffert's "best" TC horse did not run due to a "quarter crack".

Please excuse my noviceness (if that's a word) cuz I am somewhat new to the sport, but "enquiring minds want to know"....What's a "quarter crack"