PDA

View Full Version : New Member

jackvdo
12-18-2004, 04:17 PM
Just like to intoduce myself. I have been reading the posts on this message thread for about a year and a half and have enjoyed most of them.

I am a software developer by profession (Visual FoxPro) so am of course a database handicapper. I have been building my own system for the last 4 1/2 years with the goal of having a completely automated (both handicapping and wagering) system that of course hopefully is profitable.

I have been slightly profitable this year and have done really well the last four months so I think I might be able to add something to the discussion here at this point.

I look forward to discussing my passion with all of you.

kingfin66
12-18-2004, 04:47 PM
"Just like to intoduce myself. I have been reading the posts on this message thread for about a year and a half and have enjoyed most of them."

A hearty WELCOME!

"I look forward to discussing my passion with all of you."

I look forward to it as well. Your program sounds very interesting. My dream is to have an autotote system where you can place a limit bet based on odds and time to post. For example, many players like to wager on horses at 5-1 or higher. Some also have an upper odds limit. What if an autotote system could be programmed to take your wager only if your odds were within the range specified at post time. Of course, the way the late money pours in, you would still be likely to have your horse hammered down.

I would love to hear more about your database and program as far as what factors you look at, how large the db is, etc., etc.

keenang
12-18-2004, 06:45 PM
JACKVDO:

WELCOME ABOARD!

GENE

stuball
12-18-2004, 07:47 PM
Want to say hi......I don't think there are very many of us around that use FoxPro.....I have a 3 YO database.....at 1 time I had a 5 YO database of all Kentucky tracks...but have expanded to all tracks that run in the US.....