GR1@HTR
05-02-2001, 02:18 PM
Pick One!

PaceAdvantage
05-02-2001, 04:59 PM
I use my own homegrown stuff....

Tom
05-02-2001, 09:21 PM
I use a lot-no set programs. Total Pace is the basses of everything I do, in one way or another. I still use thoromation sometimes, and K-gen sometimes. When I am really alert and on my game, I can really do well with Sarrtin's energy-type programs, but when I am not that sharp, they really are hard to use. It's like soe days I speak the language, and other days I forget what the words mean.
I always know what TPR is telling me. I am just getting into Multicaps lately-I like the printouts and the modeling-and the various factors to look at all at once.
Tom

PA-
I like your program-I copied the Derby post to Excel so I could play with the numbers, calculate some other ratings, etc, and had some fun with it today-thanks for the post.

Dick Schmidt
05-03-2001, 04:23 AM
Three thoughts come to mind. First, I'm glad to see that TPR just keeps rolling along. We still sell enough books to justify keeping them in print. Sometimes the simple ways are best.

Second, Bob Purdy is going to be seriously pissed when he sees you've lumped him in with Sartin programs. He is in no way connected with Sartin or PIRCO any more, and his programs have little in common with such offerings as Validator.

Third, a software program that only works when you are "sharp" is missing the whole point of using a computer. When you are "on" anything will work. The idea of using a computer is to make sure you approach each race in the same manner and do not miss things. If they can't do that, if they need an outstanding handicapper just to make them work, then what good are they most of the time? The key to winning over time is consistency, not brilliance.

Dick

GR1@HTR
05-03-2001, 10:01 AM
Tom,