PDA

View Full Version : Fundamental Handicapping Process??

sq764
11-15-2004, 12:21 PM
Are there any time-tested books/manuals/website articles out there that explain the fundamentals of handicapping? I am not speaking of those focusing only on pace or speed or pedigree, etc…

If you were a complete newbie to handicapping and you didn’t want a system or software or angles, simply a solid, step by step handicapping process that could apply to most tracks, most races, that you could use time after time after time?

Does this exist?

Valuist
11-15-2004, 12:23 PM
I would say Steve Davidowitz's book "Betting Thoroughbreds" is the best book to learn the game. He talks about a comprehensive understanding of the game, rather than just specialization.

OTM Al
11-15-2004, 01:41 PM
Agreed. Davidowitz's book is well written and can be used by the new player as well as an experienced one looking to get back to basics. Brad Free's new book, Handicapping 101 isn't bad either

headhawg
11-15-2004, 02:19 PM
I think an underrated book that meets your criteria is "Winner's File" by Henry Kuck. Covers topics like reading the past performances correctly to toteboard watching to the physicality of horses.

Rpd
11-15-2004, 03:04 PM
I agree, I actually think "Winner's File" is one of the best books written. It's not an "in" book but contains a wealth of information especially why it is important not to be ultra rigid in your handicapping.

Larry Hamilton
11-15-2004, 03:08 PM
Tell me why I should buy this book--"Winning Files". Thanks

Tom
11-16-2004, 10:25 PM
Tom Ainsle's classic is dated on some things, but overall, still has a lot of good, basic stuff in it.

thoroughbred
11-17-2004, 12:15 PM
Our web site www.revelationprofits.com under the "Documents" link has a "Handicapping" booklet. Although it's associated with CompuTrak, it is very general, and inclusive enough to be useful for handicapping beginners. It's free.

ElKabong
11-17-2004, 02:05 PM