PDA

View Full Version : TEH help

edek
11-06-2004, 05:24 PM
Hey All,

I got hold of an old copy of The Essential Handicapper v1.6 and was playing around with trying to get it working.
It uses old BRIS downloads. The current ones will not import.
Does anyone know how the old ones differ and/or have a copy an of an old datafile I could look at in order to convert new ones to match.

Ed

BillW
11-06-2004, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by edek
Hey All,

I got hold of an old copy of The Essential Handicapper v1.6 and was playing around with trying to get it working.
It uses old BRIS downloads. The current ones will not import.
Does anyone know how the old ones differ and/or have a copy an of an old datafile I could look at in order to convert new ones to match.

Ed

Ed,

How old are you talking? I've been using them since 1996 and the format hasn't changed in that time. Data has been added to the "future use" fields though.

Bill

Tom
11-06-2004, 06:30 PM
It doesn't use the normal BRIS files. I will see if I can find which ones it uses...they were expensive and there were two files. $5 a file I think.

edek
11-06-2004, 06:32 PM
Hi BillW,
Thanks for replying.

I'm not exactly sure how old the program is. The example database on install has data from 1993.
Documentation just refers to v1.5 but the disk says v1.6 so the previous owner must have gotten an upgrade.

When I try to do an import I get File Error #2. I am just assuming this is a file incompatibilty error.

Also the documentation refers to datafiles that come in pairs.
Format #4. with DAT and DA2 extensions.

Tom,
just noticed your reply. Yes 2 files.

Tom
11-07-2004, 11:38 AM