PDA

View Full Version : Derby Horses who Over-Performed

MadVindication
05-06-2018, 02:40 PM
Bravazo really, really outperformed the expectations. I had bet him heavily, and don't regret it even tho he came in 6th. Because I'm new to handicapping so that's pretty good for a beginner.

Maybe he's the right horse, but the wrong race?

Researching passed derby's I noticed that Lucas is honest about his contenders. I see that is isn't uncommon that he takes long shots and makes them winners. When he has a live one he says so. But he knew Bravazo wouldn't be one of them. When he said in this* interview that he didn't think Bravazo had limitations at the distance and he kept the pace honest that was a pretty modest assessment.

I'm excited that Bravazo is running the Preakness.

Lone Sailor outperformed himself. Compared to Hofburg hype you'd think he would have been more outclassed by Hofburg.

I had picked Instilled Regard as a long shot because he was the same situation as Battle of Midway; points bubble;same trainer. Coincidence enough for me. And there was a thread on this forum where someone asked about "push button" horses. I figured that was a good angle because this derby wouldn't see closers hit the board, and a mid pack runner with explosive ability would likely hit the board. I bought the "Patterns of Motion" analysis, recommended here. Despite IR not ranking highly, they did identify him as that type of horse.