PDA

View Full Version : Excel Column names


wilderness
12-22-2017, 06:10 AM
Could somebody tell me how to make the column names appear in a SS as I scroll further down the sheet?

headhawg
12-22-2017, 08:54 AM
If your column headers are in Row 1 then go to View/Freeze Panes/Freeze Top Row. If your headers are in a different row then select the cell immediately below and to the right of the rows and columns that you want to freeze, then View/Freeze Panes/Freeze Panes.

wilderness
12-22-2017, 08:13 PM
Thanks.
I don't see nay offering for Freeze Panes under the View pull down.

Perhaps the problem is that I've just named the columns, rather than Headers?

headhawg
12-22-2017, 08:49 PM
Maybe you have an early-ish version of Excel. If you have a Window option in the menu, Freeze Panes should be there I think.

Dave Schwartz
12-23-2017, 12:04 AM
Thanks.
I don't see nay offering for Freeze Panes under the View pull down.

Perhaps the problem is that I've just named the columns, rather than Headers?

Headhawg knows his stuff and he is telling you right.

Maybe this will help.

https://www.practicalhandicapping.com/desktop/package/PublicImages/PA/PA_Excel_FreezePanes.jpg

wilderness
12-23-2017, 04:16 AM
Thanks again.
My Ver is 2003 11.56something.

FWIW the Freeze Pane option is in the Windows Pull Down.

Although Freeze Pane may be part of what I'm looking for, it's not my solution.

1) I have used INSERT/NAMES/DEFINE to give each column a name.
2) Unfortunately the names are hidden and what shows instead are the alpha letters for the columns.

3) Is it possible to make the names appear and then use those names in Freeze Pane.

Apologies for the confusion.

headhawg
12-23-2017, 09:13 AM
I suspected that you already knew about Freeze Panes, Don. I should have asked if you wanted to rename the actual column labels of A, B, C,... Sorry about that. To my knowledge, that's hard-coded into Excel and can't be changed. The best you can do is hide the row and column labels which I think in Excel 2003 is under Tools/Options. Then you would use Row 1 as your column headers (and similarly Column A as your row headers).

wilderness
12-23-2017, 10:01 AM
Know that this was possible in Lotus 30 years ago ;)

I was positive that Excel still included the Lotus keyboard functions, but checked for these options and zilch.