PDA

View Full Version : "Playing Switchies"

Teach
10-08-2017, 11:19 AM
"Playing Switchies"

"Hi Pardner," the voice called out. "Mind if I join ya?" the man with the cowboy hat continued. "Be my guest," I replied.

I was sitting on one of the bar stools at "The Fitz's" second-floor "watering hole" sipping on a Corona with a lime. I had just finished a long day of gambling: BJ, roulette, pai gow poker and VP, and oh yes, the "ponies," plus a few sports bets. A chance to unwind. A quiet place -- an oasis -- in the midst of this gambling mecca, Las Vegas. The year was 1988.

The man with the cowboy hat -- oh I'd put him in his 50s -- sitting in the bar stool next to me began to engage me in conversation. "Where y'all from?" he asked with his Texas twang. "Boston," I said. "Oh, yeah, Boston," he repeated. "Been there several times," he said. "Love your seafood," he continued. "What y'all do up in Boston?" he asked. I said, "I'm a high- chool teacher." "Whada teach," he continued. "History," I said. "That was my favorite subject." (How many times have I heard that?).

Well, this talkative stranger continued. "I'm from Texas" (as if I didn't know). "Big 'D'," he added. "That's Dallas." The stranger then said, "It's been so dry down in Dallas the trees are even beggin' the dogs. Get it, take a leak!" "Yeah, I get it," I said. The Texan then continued, "I work for Schlumberger; I'm here for an oil drillin' show over at the Convention Center. You've heard of Schlumbarger," he continued. "Yeah," I said. "Don't they make mattresses."