PDA

View Full Version : Would past off conditional betting appeal to you as a bettor?

Poindexter
10-02-2017, 02:28 PM
I am not a programmer, but assume that it is possible that with current technology, players could enter conditional bets that would not process until the final money has entered the pool (after the race has started). At this point the computer will scan every conditional bet, process the ones that will work , and keep going down the stack over and over until no more bets could be made. Obviously prioritizing bets would likely have to be done at random. i would limit these to $100 win bets initially until it proves to have no downside and raise from there.

I know many of us find this game frustrating because we can't get the price we bet a horse as the horses are loading the gate or we don't get our strike price on a horse until the late money that comes in drives the horses price up after they are off. Either way, we are extremely frustrated as a bettor.

My question to you the fellow bettor, if racing were to offer past off conditional betting, would that interest you? This would be very similar to placing a limit order in the stock market. It may mean you may not know whether you even have a bet until deep into the race or even after the race, but it would also mean that on the bets you do make, you would always get your strike price. I would jump at this in a heartbeat. Curious if others feel the same way, or is not knowing whether you have a bet, or whether frustration of not betting a horse who wins at 9/5 because you didn't get 2-1, going to frustrate you even more than the original problem and make this form of betting unappealing to you. Or is there some downside to this that I missing?

Track Collector
10-02-2017, 09:43 PM