PDA

View Full Version : Stable Betting--a thing of the past?

NorCalGreg
05-25-2017, 01:38 AM
Someone...I don't remember who--recently made a statement here that --since fields are smaLL and purses have gotten larger--that stable betting is largely a thing of the past. Most all races are on the "up and up".

I got a good chuckle out of that comment. I happened to spot a horse @ EVD...a track where the wagering doesn't seem all that sophisticated....maybe the sharpies don't bother much with EVD.

This horse-- 6th race GOOD GOSH GENE 15-1 ML---showed NOTHING in his last 5 races to indicate today was the day. Sometimes I get lucky and spot these--I'm no sharper than the next guy. I am a student of running lines---and could see GENE'S past running lines had an unnatural look.

I don't believe this horse had even beaten half the field last-5. His lowest odds were 18-1...highest was 85-1.

GENE won his race today---and paid a whopping 8 bucks. If you go over this horse with a fine tooth comb--he had good pace and speed numbers--against an incredibly weak field.

Still...it's blatantly obvious this was "inside" wagering. The betting public does not look at running lines...especially the EVD crowd.

I was hoping for a $20.00+ payoff :mad: . Maybe I'm whining a little bit here--but note that inside betting is alive and well--and always will be.
-NCG

*btw.....this horse paid more to show than place

https://image.ibb.co/isCFAv/Gene.png

thaskalos
05-25-2017, 05:00 AM
I've been using HDW's PsPos reports for about 4 months now. Along with providing speed and pace figures in these reports, Jim Cramer also gives his prediction of the race's outcome...based on his projection of what final figure each horse in the race will ultimately run. In this race...Cramer's predicted order of finish was :5:,:1:,:2:...with the :5: listed less than half a length ahead of the :1: at the finish. The race's official finish was :1:,:2:,:5:.