PDA

View Full Version : MS License Agreement

Dave Schwartz
02-11-2002, 04:50 PM
This may make me sound like a professional Microsoft basher (up to now I have been an amateur), but I can't help it.

Get this:

MS says that all the XP products are licensed to a MACHINE and not a user. Furthermore, if you stop using that machine, you must purchase a new product.

Now, watch how this works... You purchase Office XP Pro at a cost of several hundred dollars. 12 months later you decide to upgrade the motherboard, hard drive, etc. Your Office XP will not run because it is not the same system anymore. You have to go purchase a new Office XP!

People, you need to be as outraged at this as I am.

Regards,
Dave Schwartz

PS: Originally posted at HorseStreet's BBS.

ranchwest
02-11-2002, 05:24 PM
Under copyright law, you are supposed to be able to choose either having the software tied to a machine or having the software tied to a user. In nearly all cases it is impractical to have the software tied to a user, since you'd have to be able to prove that only that user was using the software on all of the machines it was on. Under no cases can the software be in use on two machines at once (unless you have a multi-user license).

Under the law, you can install software on a new machine, provided you remove the software from the old machine.

Of course, with most MS software, you'll probably have to install it weekly to keep it working, no matter what machine it is.

Trijack
02-11-2002, 06:00 PM
With 2 computers in the home, I refuse to play that game witH MS but there are ways around this. My son and his friends are always finding ways to beat MS and their one software to one computer.

Tim
02-11-2002, 07:00 PM
Guys,

I agree the method MS is using to prevent piracy is terrible. That said, read the fine print.

1) Your software license gives you the right to install and validate a XP product on two machines at the same time.