PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here

bootyclause
11-18-2016, 06:01 PM
I did not exist previously.

I'm new to horse racing in the last six months, local to Meadowlands. Enjoy harness racing, attended or watched a dozen times or so. Same with thoroughbreds at Monmouth, Parx and online.

Still trying to learn, especially harness. I could probably think of over 50 questions about racing but for now I will just ask one.

Is there somewhere that gives an extensive explanation of all the different classes of races and all the abbreviations in the program for the previous race conditions? I'm interested in deeper knowledge of that subject, not just a brief summary. Asking about harness but also curious in thoroughbreds.

Also, in that same general topic, I see a lot of times where the description of the race conditions will say like "Fillies and Mares NW (I know that means "non-winners") $5000 in last 5 starts" - which seems straightforward but then I see that three of the horses in this race have higher winnings than that in their last 5, two of them have over 10,000 in winnings. (Looking randomly at race 4 tonight at the Meadowlands). I don't follow why the horses seem to contradict the stated conditions at times.

Any information is appreciated, thanks!

bootyclause
11-18-2016, 06:02 PM
actually that was two questions lol

Jess Hawsen Arown
11-18-2016, 06:14 PM
I did not exist previously.

I'm new to horse racing in the last six months, local to Meadowlands. Enjoy harness racing, attended or watched a dozen times or so. Same with thoroughbreds at Monmouth, Parx and online.

Still trying to learn, especially harness. I could probably think of over 50 questions about racing but for now I will just ask one.