PDA

View Full Version : Make 6 figs and be miserable or make 40k and be happy?

Neumeier
10-27-2016, 03:13 AM
I am a UPS package driver. The pay, free benefits, and retirement is unbelievable.

I work crazy hours every day. Last night I was delivering packages at 9:30 at night in the pitch black and it isn't even peak season yet. Most nights I get home and my daughters (3 and 9 months)are long asleep.

I talk to the FedEx Ground drivers on my route and they make 40-45k but their day is a breeze. Most of them have about 80 stops (currently I have over 150). They regularly get out around 4-430. The catch is that there are no benefits/retirement. I could go on my wife's though.

I don't want to miss my kids childhood for a job, but I need to make money and the retirement is nice. I find myself thinking about this often as I am now at 3am.

barn32
10-27-2016, 05:45 AM
I am a UPS package driver. The pay, free benefits, and retirement is unbelievable.

I work crazy hours every day. Last night I was delivering packages at 9:30 at night in the pitch black and it isn't even peak season yet. Most nights I get home and my daughters (3 and 9 months)are long asleep.

I talk to the FedEx Ground drivers on my route and they make 40-45k but their day is a breeze. Most of them have about 80 stops (currently I have over 150). They regularly get out around 4-430. The catch is that there are no benefits/retirement. I could go on my wife's though.

I don't want to miss my kids childhood for a job, but I need to make money and the retirement is nice. I find myself thinking about this often as I am now at 3am.Are you required to deliver a certain number of packages everyday, or do you just deliver the packages that are there to be delivered on your route regardless of the number.

In other words, do you work until all packages are delivered? And how many hours a day do you average working?

Neumeier
10-27-2016, 08:07 AM