PDA

View Full Version : Windows 10 Update


pandy
09-23-2016, 09:19 AM
Just got the latest, long, windows 10 update yesterday. The last one back in July screwed up my computer, but eventually Mcafee cleared it up, deleted a virus.

So far not problems with this latest update but once again they changed the start button. I don't know why they have this fanatical obsession with changing the start button so often. Otherwise I don't see any changes, but it was a long update.

JustRalph
09-23-2016, 11:03 AM
Lots of shell programs out there to make it like old winders. I run one on my laptop.

barn32
09-23-2016, 11:05 AM
Windows did an automatic update last week and it changed all my font settings across the board. Annoying.

whodoyoulike
09-23-2016, 07:20 PM
That was a long update well over an hour for me. They should give us a time of completion estimate or warning. I wanted to do something quick but wasn't able to do it in time. It started on the previous day's shutdown. Now when I see the update notice at shutdown I'm going to immediately restart so it can finish and not on my time.

Track Collector
10-04-2016, 11:22 PM
I shut things down before they were done because it did not appear to me anything was happening. The result was a MAJOR MESS!

I could not get windows 10 to start, but found a way to re-install it. Unfortunately the re-install deleted/removed most of my applications, and it took the best part of 3 days to get just about everything back in working order, including some long times on the phone with various tech support. (On the positive side, I ran all the racing pattern matches that I would have played but missed. I saved about $360!). :jump:

MS needs to make major improvements with how they keep the user apprised of the update progress and status. :bang:

whodoyoulike
10-05-2016, 01:21 AM
That's what I trying to let everyone know in my post. It took a while to shut down the previous night and when I started the machine the following day it tied it up over an hour.

How do/did you know the correct tel# to call if your machine goes down?

forced89
10-05-2016, 09:50 AM
I'm still on Windows 7 and have it set up so that I have to authorize all updates and in truth only authorize 15 to 20 percent of them. Can't you do the same thing with Windows 10?

Tom
10-05-2016, 01:38 PM
http://www.windowscentral.com/windows10-anniversary-update-common-problems-how-fix

http://www.classicshell.net/

I decided the best way to move to W10 was just buy a new computer with it already installed. I ordered a refurb from NewEgg today, coming Friday.
Got a nice laptop, 15.6 screen, DVD/CD drive.....

But my two XP machines will still be the workhorses.

JustRalph
10-05-2016, 01:45 PM
http://www.windowscentral.com/windows10-anniversary-update-common-problems-how-fix

http://www.classicshell.net/

I decided the best way to move to W10 was just buy a new computer with it already installed. I ordered a refurb from NewEgg today, coming Friday.
Got a nice laptop, 15.6 screen, DVD/CD drive.....

But my two XP machines will still be the workhorses.

Smart move.

barn32
10-05-2016, 01:52 PM
http://www.windowscentral.com/windows10-anniversary-update-common-problems-how-fix

http://www.classicshell.net/

I decided the best way to move to W10 was just buy a new computer with it already installed. I ordered a refurb from NewEgg today, coming Friday.
Got a nice laptop, 15.6 screen, DVD/CD drive.....

But my two XP machines will still be the workhorses.What are the specs, brand and the price?

Looking for a newer faster, much faster machine. Solid state hard drive, lots of ram, etc.

If I get too many programs running on this thing I got everything slows down
to a crawl.

I'm thinking $1500, but I haven't really got into it yet. Less I hope.

We'll see.

Tom
10-05-2016, 02:05 PM
HP Laptop - B Grade ProBook 6565B AMD A4-Series A4-3310MX (2.1 GHz) 4 GB Memory 250 GB HDD 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit




$149.00

barn32
10-05-2016, 02:12 PM
HP Laptop - B Grade ProBook 6565B AMD A4-Series A4-3310MX (2.1 GHz) 4 GB Memory 250 GB HDD 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit



$149.00Not bad. Maybe I should just go this route and have multiple machines for different things.

Tom
10-05-2016, 02:31 PM
Not bad. Maybe I should just go this route and have multiple machines for different things.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834266005&cm_re=laptops_with_windows_10-_-34-266-005-_-Product

barn32
10-05-2016, 03:25 PM
After chatting with the tech guy at Newegg (who was very helpful) he found exactly what I wanted (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834331872&cm_re=laptop-_-34-331-872-_-Product) for $979. I just have to decide whether or not to pull the trigger.

It's been so long since I purchased anything at Newegg I had forgotten about them. Thanks for the link.

Lenovo Laptop IdeaPad 700 80RV002UUS
Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz)
16 GB DDR4 Memory
1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD
NVIDIA GeForce GT 940MX 17.3"
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
1920 x 1080
DVD±R/RW

Native Texan III
10-05-2016, 07:38 PM
After chatting with the tech guy at Newegg (who was very helpful) he found exactly what I wanted (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834331872&cm_re=laptop-_-34-331-872-_-Product) for $979. I just have to decide whether or not to pull the trigger.

It's been so long since I purchased anything at Newegg I had forgotten about them. Thanks for the link.

Lenovo Laptop IdeaPad 700 80RV002UUS
Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz)
16 GB DDR4 Memory
1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD
NVIDIA GeForce GT 940MX 17.3"
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
1920 x 1080
DVD±R/RW

The 128Gb SSD will be too small as Windows puts more than the operating system, - all the hibernating files, caches, favorites etc, update copies, user folders and some program folders etc there. Windows ended up at 130Gb on my SSD after a few months. 256Gb is the minimum and they do not cost much these days.

Track Collector
10-06-2016, 12:08 AM
That's what I trying to let everyone know in my post. It took a while to shut down the previous night and when I started the machine the following day it tied it up over an hour.

How do/did you know the correct tel# to call if your machine goes down?

I was lucky to stumble upon a way to get my machine to re-install Windows 10.

The on-line "tech" folks that I worked with had no association with the type of computer I use (Lenovo T450S), but were associated with the various software applications I was trying to re-install. (MS Outlook was a particular challenge.).

While it is highly rewarding to figure out how to fix one's own computer problems, lack of skill and expertise make it necessary for me to sometimes seek out the services of a highly-trained professional. Lucky I have located such a person locally who I highly trust and whose rates of compensation are very reasonable. IMO, a Computer Specialist is just another one of the key people one should have in their network like one's Physician, Dentist, Car Mechanic, Plumber, etc.

whodoyoulike
10-06-2016, 12:20 AM
I was lucky to stumble upon a way to get my machine to re-install Windows 10.

The on-line "tech" folks that I worked with had no association with the type of computer I use (Lenovo T450S), but were associated with the various software applications I was trying to re-install. (MS Outlook was a particular challenge.).

While it is highly rewarding to figure out how to fix one's own computer problems, lack of skill and expertise make it necessary for me to sometimes seek out the services of a highly-trained professional. Lucky I have located such a person locally who I highly trust and whose rates of compensation are very reasonable. IMO, a Computer Specialist is just another one of the key people one should have in their network like one's Physician, Dentist, Car Mechanic, Plumber, etc.

What I meant was I don't know how to contact anyone (e.g., tech support) if my computer won't boot. I don't have any Tel# even now with it working I wouldn't know whom to call. Other than the Geek Squad??

Zaf
10-06-2016, 01:26 AM
Just got the latest, long, windows 10 update yesterday. The last one back in July screwed up my computer, but eventually Mcafee cleared it up, deleted a virus.

So far not problems with this latest update but once again they changed the start button. I don't know why they have this fanatical obsession with changing the start button so often. Otherwise I don't see any changes, but it was a long update.

Just got the IOS 10.0 update on my iphone, gonna need a week to figure out whats going on, i was totally satisfied with how it was working :bang:

Z

JustRalph
10-06-2016, 01:47 AM
Just got the IOS 10.0 update on my iphone, gonna need a week to figure out whats going on, i was totally satisfied with how it was working :bang:

Z

It's better, except for the lock screen. At least it is on the iPad Pro. I use an older iPhone 5 because I can't stand a huge phone. I notice very few differences.

Track Collector
10-06-2016, 02:57 AM
What I meant was I don't know how to contact anyone (e.g., tech support) if my computer won't boot. I don't have any Tel# even now with it working I wouldn't know whom to call. Other than the Geek Squad??

Some suggestions:
--- Check your local phone book for computer sales and repair.
--- Watch for computer store business signs as you are out and about. I notice these frequently when I pass thru unfamiliar communities.
--- Ask friends and others in your local community if they ever needed their computer repaired and where did they take it.

Remember too that I was able to get tech help over the phone because the issues were software/applicaton-related. Hardware issues (like not being able to boot up) typically require you to take the machine somewhere to be diagnosed and fixed.

Poindexter
10-06-2016, 05:25 AM
Sunday night on my laptop I was given a prompt that I needed to update Windows 10. So I did so and it tied up my computer a good hour. When it was done I assumed all was good. Monday morning I bring my laptop to work. As soon as I go online it knocks all my other devices offline. Put my laptop on airplane mode and my all was well......I call ATT and they test and everything looks okay. So they sent out a tech on Wednesday. He has no idea why his is happening. But he shows me the update portion of Windows 10 and we see that windows 10 is still trying to install and update. Since I needed the other devices at the location functioning I was unable to update. I had him replace the modem thinking that that might be the problem, computer funtioned for a minute and then same problem. So I then bring my laptop to another location with DSL and plug it in directly via ethernet cable. It disabled the other computers on the network from getting internet, but since it was direct to the router, I was able to complete the download of the update. So about an hour later update is complete and no problems. Bring it back to the original location and all is well. Found it pretty amazing that the update required so much bandwith that it killed the internet connection on other computers/devices IJust a heads up for anyone updating windows 10. Do it somewhere that you do not need other devices to function for a while. To see if your update needs to be completed click start, settings, update and security. It will show you the updates that need to be completed or let you know they are all done.

ps I am a complete novice on this stuff, this is just how I resolved my problem.

barn32
10-06-2016, 05:50 AM
The 128Gb SSD will be too small as Windows puts more than the operating system, - all the hibernating files, caches, favorites etc, update copies, user folders and some program folders etc there. Windows ended up at 130Gb on my SSD after a few months. 256Gb is the minimum and they do not cost much these days.I've been researching this a little bit, and I guess I'm confused.

I was under the impression the entire hard drive was solid state. I guess that's wrong. Only 128Gb is SSD and the rest is read write? Is that correct?

It has a 1T hard drive, so I'm assuming 128Gb of that is SSD.

Thanks for any clarification.

PaceAdvantage
10-06-2016, 09:07 AM
Sunday night on my laptop I was given a prompt that I needed to update Windows 10. So I did so and it tied up my computer a good hour. When it was done I assumed all was good. Monday morning I bring my laptop to work. As soon as I go online it knocks all my other devices offline. Put my laptop on airplane mode and my all was well......I call ATT and they test and everything looks okay. So they sent out a tech on Wednesday. He has no idea why his is happening. But he shows me the update portion of Windows 10 and we see that windows 10 is still trying to install and update. Since I needed the other devices at the location functioning I was unable to update. I had him replace the modem thinking that that might be the problem, computer funtioned for a minute and then same problem. So I then bring my laptop to another location with DSL and plug it in directly via ethernet cable. It disabled the other computers on the network from getting internet, but since it was direct to the router, I was able to complete the download of the update. So about an hour later update is complete and no problems. Bring it back to the original location and all is well. Found it pretty amazing that the update required so much bandwith that it killed the internet connection on other computers/devices IJust a heads up for anyone updating windows 10. Do it somewhere that you do not need other devices to function for a while. To see if your update needs to be completed click start, settings, update and security. It will show you the updates that need to be completed or let you know they are all done.

ps I am a complete novice on this stuff, this is just how I resolved my problem.I think this "Windows 10 kicking other devices off a network" thing was a known problem with some Windows 10 installations. I've heard of it before...here is one example, but it doesn't quite match your situation:

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/tech/news/457707/Windows-10-Break-Wifi-Connection-How-To-Fix-It

traynor
10-06-2016, 02:35 PM
Some suggestions:
--- Check your local phone book for computer sales and repair.
--- Watch for computer store business signs as you are out and about. I notice these frequently when I pass thru unfamiliar communities.
--- Ask friends and others in your local community if they ever needed their computer repaired and where did they take it.

Remember too that I was able to get tech help over the phone because the issues were software/applicaton-related. Hardware issues (like not being able to boot up) typically require you to take the machine somewhere to be diagnosed and fixed.

Craigslist.

whodoyoulike
10-06-2016, 03:34 PM
... To see if your update needs to be completed click start, settings, update and security. It will show you the updates that need to be completed or let you know they are all done.

ps I am a complete novice on this stuff, this is just how I resolved my problem.

This is the reason I'm going to use the update and restart option whenever I see an update is being requested as I shut down from the previous night and let it run. Again, there should be some notice by M$ of the update time frame required to complete the update before you click go ahead and update. As you noted when you start the computer a lot of times you really need to accomplish something. In my case, I wasn't able to but it wasn't something critical.

Parkview_Pirate
10-06-2016, 06:08 PM
I shut things down before they were done because it did not appear to me anything was happening. The result was a MAJOR MESS!

I could not get windows 10 to start, but found a way to re-install it. Unfortunately the re-install deleted/removed most of my applications, and it took the best part of 3 days to get just about everything back in working order, including some long times on the phone with various tech support. (On the positive side, I ran all the racing pattern matches that I would have played but missed. I saved about $360!). :jump:

MS needs to make major improvements with how they keep the user apprised of the update progress and status. :bang:

Agreed. I had a similar issue on my new system, which I built from scratch. The Windows 10 update hung up, and when rebooting appeared to have doinked up the boot order on my firmware. The W10 o/s is way too intrusive, so I'll be deleting it off my system, and only running it as a virtual machine. Fortunately, I've only got a couple of Windows apps I run, so that will work. The machine will stay dual-bootable, just with two flavors of Linux.

Windows users may want to look into creating a system image to recover from to avoid the "three days of pain" of restoring a system. It doesn't take too many apps installed on Windows, plus the flurry of updates over time, to make learning how to properly backup and restore a system image worthwhile. It will save you from viruses, hardware failures, and the update that's gone off the rails. If you have a second internal drive or an external USB drive, it's a fairly simple process to perform the backup, being the same as it was on Windows 7. Recovering the system requires booting from a recovery CD/DVD in the event you can't get the system to boot.

Here's a link to get started on that.....

http://www.howtogeek.com/220986/how-to-use-all-of-windows-10%E2%80%99s-backup-and-recovery-tools/

Of course, you should also have a separate process to backup your data, unless you just want to perform the full system image backup (usually larger) on a regular basis.

rastajenk
10-06-2016, 09:47 PM
My complaint is a minor one, but I think it's in line with some of these other posts. After I did the WinTen update a couple weeks ago, I can't log on without seeing the message, "You need to update your windows account so that other devices can grope each other like they're supposed to...." or something like that. And something about dolby sound needing to be re-installed.

One, I don't appreciate the tone of "you need to." I would rather read "Perhaps you should...." Two, I don't have any other devices to sync up with. But I have not found any way to turn off that demanding message from the "Action Center." Is there any way to tell the Action Center to F*** Off?

whodoyoulike
10-06-2016, 11:33 PM
My complaint is a minor one, but I think it's in line with some of these other posts. After I did the WinTen update a couple weeks ago, I can't log on without seeing the message, "You need to update your windows account so that other devices can grope each other like they're supposed to...." or something like that. And something about dolby sound needing to be re-installed.

One, I don't appreciate the tone of "you need to." I would rather read "Perhaps you should...." Two, I don't have any other devices to sync up with. But I have not found any way to turn off that demanding message from the "Action Center." Is there any way to tell the Action Center to F*** Off?

I think there is a way just can't remember. Maybe Google or Cortana might help? I used to occasionally receive that message but no longer. I don't remember doing anything to stop it.

barn32
10-11-2016, 04:20 PM
The 128Gb SSD will be too small as Windows puts more than the operating system, - all the hibernating files, caches, favorites etc, update copies, user folders and some program folders etc there. Windows ended up at 130Gb on my SSD after a few months. 256Gb is the minimum and they do not cost much these days.I did some research and decided to take your advice about the 256Gb SSD drive. I am so tired of my PC freezing up and slowing down with every program, that I just went ahead and pulled the trigger on the following PC at Newegg.

I didn't really want to pay this much ($949), but that's the price you have to pay I guess to get good features and some decent speed. That, and it was on sale from $1249. A 17.3 inch screen was $300 more.

I hope I like it.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y700 80NV00Q9US Gaming Laptop
Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60Ghz)
16 GB Memory
1 TB HDD
256 GB PCIE SSD
GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB
15.6" FHD
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit


Newegg Link (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834331907&ignorebbr=1)

barn32
10-13-2016, 07:25 AM
I did some research and decided to take your advice about the 256Gb SSD drive. I am so tired of my PC freezing up and slowing down with every program, that I just went ahead and pulled the trigger on the following PC at Newegg.

I didn't really want to pay this much ($949), but that's the price you have to pay I guess to get good features and some decent speed. That, and it was on sale from $1249. A 17.3 inch screen was $300 more.

I hope I like it.

Lenovo IdeaPad Y700 80NV00Q9US Gaming Laptop
Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60Ghz)
16 GB Memory
1 TB HDD
256 GB PCIE SSD
GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB
15.6" FHD
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit


Newegg Link (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834331907&ignorebbr=1)Got this in two days. Free shipping. Damn fast. So far so good. A few minor issues. Just some kinks to be worked out, I think. Settings, etc.

Very impressed so far.

barn32
10-18-2016, 11:23 PM
Twice today Windows did an automatic update on my brand new PC.

If you right-click on the desktop/displaysettings/fonts,etc. you can set up the way you want your fonts, menus and icons, etc. to look.

When Windows updates it pushes these settings back to default.

Also, when Excel is loaded, it will close down Excel, and create a new file called whatever.xlsx(repaired), which is a super annoying pain.

For that reason I've yet to install Office on my new PC. I still use the old one for that.

So I did some digging and I found this site (https://mspoweruser.com/turn-off-windows-update-windows-10/) (scroll down about half-way), which tells you how to disable the automatic Windows updates.

Just remember to reverse the process and turn them back on occasionally to get new updates when it is convenient for YOU.

098poi
10-18-2016, 11:40 PM
On another note I found a cool W10 thing. On XP and 10 if you bring your cursor to the lower right by the taskbar you can click and minimize all windows or reopen if you want. Nothing new, BUT if you want to keep one thing open just grab the top of it, Firefox for example, and shake it everything else will minimize except what your were shaking.

Even more exciting I have my computer monitor on the left side of my desk and a TV on the right. Sometimes the TV just covers the right side of the monitor so I have lean forward to see the scroll bar on the right of the browser. I found a way to have the scroll on the left! This is for Firefox only

You need to change your settings in about:config. Here's what to do:



Enter about:config into the address bar (if it gives a warning about your warranty, click the button to say you'll be careful)
Enter layout.scrollbar.side into the search box at the top of the page
Double-click the result and replace the current value with a 3 when the prompt comes up
Click 'OK' and then restart Firefox.
It works!! I am so happy now.

pandy
10-21-2016, 08:05 AM
All of a sudden my Windows Media Player won't burn cds and gives a vague error notice that was no help. Cheetah and Imgburn aren't that good for burning music discs so I downloaded a free program, CDBurnerXP, which I never tried before, and it worked great and allowed me to pull in one of my Playlists and burn it, plus it's a player.

pandy
11-06-2016, 12:00 PM
Well, my windows 10 totally failed a few days ago. I tried a restore point and that made it totally unstable and unusable. I couldn't even reboot. Finally after several tries I was able to reboot in Safe Mode, and the computer is working perfectly in safe mode, so it was definitely a windows 10 problem. I had ordered a new machine from HP and custom built it with the help of one of their sales guys, it comes tomorrow.

Sinner369
11-07-2016, 01:51 AM
All of a sudden my Windows Media Player won't burn cds and gives a vague error notice that was no help. Cheetah and Imgburn aren't that good for burning music discs so I downloaded a free program, CDBurnerXP, which I never tried before, and it worked great and allowed me to pull in one of my Playlists and burn it, plus it's a player.

I have to agree with using CDBURNERXP...........I LOVE the pop songs from the 70s' and 80s' (the songs that you hear when you are in your teens so I recorded them for my car's CD stereo player.

I found CDBURNERXP by random search on Google and have been using it every since.