PDA

View Full Version : Like school.....?

PonyGirlJCM
09-02-2016, 05:22 AM
I am relatively new to this game.....
There are times when it feels as though I am cramming for exams ....studying PPs..thinking more than one of the choices could be right..making a decision... then having the 'answer" I didn't pick be the right one......
How do you handle it when you are not sure?

Johnny V
09-02-2016, 07:13 AM
I don't think you are ever going to be sure about much when handicapping horses. Too many things can go wrong. It is just an educated opinion for the most part. When you don't have a solid opinion on a race there is nothing wrong with sitting that one out and pass the race. There are plenty of other races and days. You will eventually the spots where you are more confident and bet those. Keep records.
I welcome you to this board. You will find many varying approaches here from some very good sharp people who have been doing this for a long time. You can learn a lot or at least something of value from most of us. There are different approaches to cashing that winning ticket. One good thing that you have going for you that I did not have when starting out is that it took me years to get to things that are just more readily available as information now.

Grits
09-02-2016, 08:38 AM
There are times when it feels as though I am cramming for exams ....studying PPs..thinking more than one of the choices could be right..making a decision... then having the 'answer" I didn't pick be the right one......

You will have the wrong answer more often than you will have the right. This is the first bit of handicapping that you need to fully understand and accept.

Also, don't have to play every race on a card. Take note of your temperament, and how you feel after losing. It plays a part in how you go forward.

Much good luck, and welcome to Pace Advantage.

Nitro
09-02-2016, 11:46 AM
Welcome to a great game!