PDA

View Full Version : My home-grown handicapping software

Lance Pelt
08-23-2016, 12:02 AM
I am a computer programmer. I love horse racing and have been playing the ponies for over 30yrs. I hardly ever made a good ROI. I would do exactas and trifectas.

In 2009, I saw Brisnet.com (http://www.brisnet.com) had the data file structures for their data files available. I said "Bingo!" I can write a program to do all of the stuff I have been doing manually that took hours to handicap races and get it done in a couple minutes.

After 7 years of development, on and off, and debugging, testing, etc. I have a pretty good working copy. It creates past performances and makes great selections. I have actually been able now to get a good ROI. Here is a link to a race past performance with selections. Let me know what you think. Sample past performance (pdf file) (http://philpelt.mycastlive.com/MNR08172016R9.pdf)

Here is a link that explains all of the colors. How to read (http://philpelt.mycastlive.com/htr.php)

I normally don't look at the Past Performances except just to check out the horses I want to use to see if they are up to par. I use the top 2 or 3 Points Selections or Track Bias Selections per race and do pick-4's.

VigorsTheGrey
08-23-2016, 12:19 AM
I really like this! Sign me up!
One thing I would include is an ep, lp ranking for all runners similar to what is found on Bris summary page far right side.....Vigors.

Lance Pelt
08-23-2016, 12:33 AM
Is that early pace and late pace ranking? Where do I find that on brisnet? Is it like a +1 and or -4 numbers?

bruin95
08-23-2016, 12:57 AM
Is that early pace and late pace ranking? Where do I find that on brisnet? Is it like a +1 and or -4 numbers?

If you look at a Brisnet PP Race Summary, it's the last two columns on the right.

Lance Pelt
08-23-2016, 01:03 AM
If you look at a Brisnet PP Race Summary, it's the last two columns on the right.
Got it. Thanks.

VigorsTheGrey
08-23-2016, 01:32 AM