PDA

View Full Version : Morning Lines are a Farce!

cj
07-01-2004, 05:24 PM
Typical example, today's 8th at Belmont. The 5-2 ML favorite comes off a good effort in the G1 Acorn earning a 91 Beyer. Her prior race she earned an 85. No horse in the field had EVER earned higher than an 83.

Now, I'm no rocket scientist, but looking at this race, I knew this horse is going to be odds on. It matters not that she won. I understand you don't want to make 4-5 Morning Lines, but 8-5 or 7-5 was realistic. 5-2? No way in hell.

I guess my main question is this - what tools are these guys using to make MLs anymore? I really think they have no idea what today's bettors are using and they are still basing MLs on factors that worked in the 70s! At least step into the 90s!

Dick Schmidt
07-01-2004, 06:14 PM
CJ,

You are missing the point of what morning line makers are trying to do. They aren't trying to predict what odds a horse will go off at, they are trying to produce a balanced 120% line that will encourage betting. People see the line you refer to and think: "this horse is a great value, I'll bet on it a whole lot". The morning line is produced by race track employees to encourage betting. Nothing is ever said about how well they reflect final odds.

Dick

In theory there is no difference between practice and theory.
In practice, there is.

TravisVOX
07-01-2004, 07:01 PM
One major drawback of Formulator is it's inability to not print morning lines. Brisnet's software allowed this and I was influenced by their B.S. ML's. Dick is right, they're trying to spur betting...and sadly, a few times they've sucked me in! :(

JackS
07-01-2004, 07:46 PM