PDA

View Full Version : Angles and Edges Part 1

VigorsTheGrey
02-19-2016, 02:32 AM
In my first post entitled "You bet your edges" I learned that I really did not know what an edge was.

I am not a professional gambler, just a longtime fan who usually bets $1 win bets on longshots, $1 exacta part wheels and dime super part wheels...I do this for a hobby but it is rather more like an obsession.

I'm sure most of you would understand how devoted I am to horse racing, otherwise I probably wouldn't be writing this at ten at night and you must be somewhat devoted to the sport also otherwise why would you be reading this?

Thanks to some insightful posts I'm starting to get a clue what an edge is.

Thaskalos said, "An "angle" is usually a particular, systematic method of play, even if this method is unprofitable...whereas an "edge" is the ADVANTAGE that the totality of our play holds over our competition. When a player says that he has an "edge" in a particular gambling game...it means that he considers himself to be a winning player in that game."

And Raybo added, "One can have a hundred "angles" but if they do not show a positive ROI in the long term, then he has no "edge" at all. "Edge" means you have an advantage over the game of making profit, versus losing money or breaking even, long term. One can have a "short term" edge, or an edge in certain races, but those are "conditional edges", and they might not allow the player to make profit long term."

Both of the above quotes were very thought provoking for me and I thank both Thaskalos and Raybo for their contributions.