PDA

View Full Version : Forestry

OTM Al
06-21-2004, 09:03 AM
Is it just me or is this guy's 3yos just plain fast? There's a decent number of them running on the NYRA circuit right now, Forest Danger being the best so far, and they all just seem to be lightning quick. Its the one sire name that I've been keeping an eye on for a couple months now and I haven't lost with it yet. Anyone else noticed this or do we just have his best here in NY?

cj
06-21-2004, 09:43 AM
He was one seriously quick racehorse when right. Given the current trends, he'll probably sire a Derby winner soon!

Bubbles
06-21-2004, 10:04 AM
I remember he won the G1 King's Bishop at 3, beating a very good horse in Five Star Day. Has the look of a very good sire.

OTM Al
06-21-2004, 10:06 AM
The thing that originally caught my eye was the Tomlinson rating when Forest Danger ran his first. It was an otherworldly 480. There was another Forestry colt in that race too. Never seen 2 Tomlinsons in one race that high. Needless to say I jumped on both. One of his fillies ran very nicely at Belmont on saturday too in a first level allowance, Reforest I think was her name. I've seen about 3 or 4 others as well this spring and all did well.

BTW, nice score on the Mass Cap. I was just feeling proud that I got off 0 with Sightseek.

Valuist
06-21-2004, 10:20 AM
Speaking of Tomlinson ratings, I notice the 2YO with the highest mud Tomlinson rating seems to win an inordinate % of races at 5.5 furlongs or shorter.

I think Pletcher is training quite a few of these Forestry horses. That definitely isn't hurting.

OTM Al
06-21-2004, 10:25 AM
Its got to be capturing the early speed potentential. Early speed on off track usually gives a winner. Early speed in 2yo maiden (or any maiden where none have raced or very very few starts) usually gives the same.

Buddha
06-21-2004, 12:42 PM