PDA

View Full Version : Full siblings

kinznk
12-21-2015, 12:46 AM
I was curious about full siblings. How often are they bred? It doesn't seem like that often but I am not a breeding expert at all. If they are not, why not. I understand that mares only have one a year. Since American Pharoah looked really good this year why wouldn't the owners of Littleprincessemma try and breed to Pioneerof the Nile again in hopes of the athletic ability to reproduce and hope for a similar temperament.

My last question is what are some, if any, of the most successful full siblings have raced?

nijinski
12-21-2015, 04:42 AM
I was curious about full siblings. How often are they bred? It doesn't seem like that often but I am not a breeding expert at all. If they are not, why not. I understand that mares only have one a year. Since American Pharoah looked really good this year why wouldn't the owners of Littleprincessemma try and breed to Pioneerof the Nile again in hopes of the athletic ability to reproduce and hope for a similar temperament.

My last question is what are some, if any, of the most successful full siblings have raced?

American Pharoah has a full brother born Feb 2015 named Irish Pharoah .
Fulls are naturally often expectied to match their siblings . We wait in anticipation but tough to replicate the exact same traits physically and mentally .
Samantha Nicole is Rachel Alexandra's full sister ..

tanner12oz
12-21-2015, 06:32 AM
Does the full brother, sister angle ever work? They usually bring alot of attention but rarely live up to the hype imo

wisconsin
12-21-2015, 09:30 AM
Serena's Song had a full sister named Serena's Sister and she could not run a lick.

chadk66
12-21-2015, 09:45 AM
It's actually quite rare to have full siblings run equally at a high level. you see it frequently at lower levels because that's where most run anyway.

biggestal99
12-21-2015, 09:53 AM