PDA

View Full Version : Profile players

Tadek
06-16-2004, 02:11 PM
Hi
I am new at this forum, my name is Tadek and I am a software developer. I am interested in your opinions about profiling of races and betting strategies for different profiles. I am currently designing a module for the next release of my product and my question comes down to: “What features would be useful in a software package for profile players”.

Any thoughts will be appreciated.

chickenhead
06-16-2004, 02:30 PM
what kind of profile are you talking about?

Tadek
06-16-2004, 03:04 PM
The best way to explain a profile is with an example. Let’s take Woodbine 2003, Races at 1 Mile and above without Maiden Claimers. One evaluation method produces: profit of $88.00 on 364 races with 98 winners (26.92%); the ROI is 0.12, the minimal cash position (“back draft” in some circles) is -$28.20 and the longest loosing streak is 14. That completely defines a set of possibly playable races.
My question is: Do you have a systematic method of playing this kind of a profile. Would you find useful parameters like “Volatility” of a profile (ratio of the profit to the largest payout and the ratio of the profit to the average payout), have you ever used a sliding window strategy or any parametric method? Any ideas will be appreciated.

Thanks for your interest chickenhead.

Regards

Tadek

garyoz
06-16-2004, 04:27 PM
Sounds like another model based on back-fitting races to predict the winner. At least that's what it sounds like to me. These "profiles" tend not to hold up when picking future winners. Have you tested it against a large sample that was not used in developing the profile? In terms of parametric measures, there was an extensive thread last year or early this year on parametric and non-parametric measurements. You might want to do a search on these terms.

ranchwest
06-16-2004, 05:32 PM
Tadek,

ROI is measured based against 1.00 as break even. I believe you meant to say 1.12 instead of 0.12.