PDA

View Full Version : Question on Charts

Bruddah
01-18-2002, 07:26 AM
I am an old time hobbyist handicapper for over 35 years. While I use a computer racing program to do my number crunching, I rely on the charts to help make decisions on key races and horses etc. My question is how many of you still use charts or at least look at them for certain races? Thanks for your in put.

I would hate to go back to the days we did it all by pen and paper. Those seem like the dark ages to me now but it was good training.

Tom
01-18-2002, 08:36 AM
I use the chart comments quite a bit. I have them in my database and I can either sort them by day or by horse, so I can look at each comment and the PP line together. One of my favorites is a horse that was in the middle of a three horse duel and then fades. this is a real excuse in my book and I love to play these guys back when they figure to be clear early today. Anoth good one is a horse who duels with at least two others during the race, then still hangs on for second or third, even if a few lengths back, and figures to get clear today.

Tom

ranchwest
01-18-2002, 09:04 AM
What is your data source for the charts in a database? What is the cost?

FortuneHunter
01-18-2002, 10:41 AM
Originally posted by ranchwest
What is your data source for the charts in a database? What is the cost?

We really want know.

Next technology leap:

Replays on DVD, tied into your database. Click on 5Dec02Aqu9 and the DVD player pops up, you pick Camera 5 (on coming stretch view) and see if that horse got blocked. Zoom in if you like.
No more comments, you see it for yourself, any angle (available) any speed. Burn your comments right on the DVD. Trip players dream.

ranchwest
01-18-2002, 11:15 AM