PDA

View Full Version : Jockeys may get weight relief in California

cj
06-04-2004, 03:36 AM
The BloodHorse (http://news.bloodhorse.com/viewstory.asp?id=22821)

IRISHLADSTABLE
06-04-2004, 06:58 AM
Its about time .

Jimmy

andicap
06-04-2004, 07:43 AM
Interesting comment from Chris McCarron, who you would think would be four-score behind it. Nope.

McCarron, the retired Hall of Fame jockey who is the general manager of Santa Anita Park, said he hoped a relaxed scale would be in effect by Dec. 26, Santa Anita's opening day. McCarron, who spoke passionately in favor of the jockeys at the CHRB meeting in April at Golden Gate Fields, reiterated his backing for them. He said executives of Magna Entertainment, which owns Santa Anita and Gulfstream parks as well as several other racetracks, were also supportive.

But McCarron stopped short of endorsing the CHRB plan.

"As a general manager, I'm concerned with field size," he said, noting that handicap trainers could look for other places to run if assigned weights of 132 pounds or more.

When pressed by commissioner Roger Licht on his postion, McCarron said, "We at Santa Anita want to help the jockeys," McCarron said. "I'm in favor of raising the scale. I'm not sure if I'm in favor of a CHRB rule change to do it."

Several years ago, he said owners convinced racing secretaries to add two or three pounds to their conditions "and that worked fine. This is a much bigger step."

He said he would prefer to see tracks do their own scale, what he called "house rules."

"That way you go down a couple of pounds, if need be," he said.

cj
06-04-2004, 07:47 AM
Its a start, but if it isn't done nationally, some trainers (Frankel comes to mind) will simply run elsewhere. He's afraid taking the first step may damage SoCal, and he may be right. But, if you really believe in something, you have to try!

andicap
06-04-2004, 09:53 AM
I see McCarron's stance as a bit of a betrayal of his fellow jockeys.