PDA

View Full Version : Advanced Pace Handicapping

pandy
06-09-2015, 09:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaceAdvantage
Those are the exact numbers I am using to base my opinion. It's striking how deficient AP is on the closing number, yet how dominant he is on the early number.

Like I said, this will be one interesting race to watch in my opinion.

I brought back this quote from last week. Pace and I were chatting about how on Timeform's early/late ratings, which show a horses early speed and late speed, American Pharoah had a vastly superior early rating in the Belmont, but a closing number that was very low for a route race, especially at that distance.

I've been analyzing these ratings for several months, not only these two Timeform ratings, but similar ratings that I have in my own software, Diamond System, and other ratings I've seen. And by the way, these are my favorite Timeform ratings.

I've often said that one of the best ways to identify class is to compare how a horse finishes against the pace of the race. These numbers do a great job of showing precisely that.

The best combination of the two numbers for a route is a horse that has good, but not the best early speed numbers, and good, but not the best late speed numbers. Why? Because that is the type of horse that will sit just behind the speed, move to the lead in the stretch and hold off the deep closers. This is the most common profile for horses that win route races.

However, I have noticed that this formula can be overcome if a horse has either a big early speed advantage, or a big late speed advantage. In the Belmont, Amer. Pharoah's early speed advantage was profound. In situations like this, not only does the horse have the ability to get the lead, but it is likely to control the pace.