PDA

View Full Version : Quickhorse Do it yourself

tgoo426193
06-02-2015, 03:07 PM
For any of those familiar with Quickhorse, I could use some help. While I'm not a complete novice at programming, I am by far, not near the end of the learning curve just yet. As you may well know, one must do much of their own programming within this utility. :bang:

Here is a copy of a question/comment, I posted over on QAs own forum. I'll be watching here as well for any support. Thx in advance. Here it is.

OK gang, Newbie here @ Qhorse, and Mike mentioned that there doesn't seem to be much participation here in the forum (that would be the QA forum), although, he noted for me to maybe take my question to the forum. With that said...

Fairly simple request and I'm not asking for anyone to build me columns for free. Just want to know if the "Component" exist to do so.

MY NEEDS = I want a column that tells me the "average" of the "top 2 Bris speed ratings" from the "3 most recent" races.

In example - last 3 ratings were 40, 10 & 60. Program of course picks 40 & 60, Adds them = 100, Divides by value of 2 = 50 (Raw Average using 3 races would = 36.6)

This formula eliminates a possible single bad race in the last 3 from bringing down the average, and creating, in effect, a "false average", had all 3 ratings been used.

I DO use the "X Most recent" component and make a "speed rating column" for each of the 3 most recent races, with which I can then make a Method with those 3 Columns. And, I've done that, but it adds columns and confusion doing the math in your head for each horse.

I CAN add those 3 ratings or I CAN average those 3 ratings within a single column, but, I CAN NOT further dissect each of the 3 ratings in an earlier step, to use just 2 of the 3 ratings in the final column results

OR CAN I??? This is my question. Does the "Component" (or combination of) exist to do the above, and, am I just not seeing it within the program choices?