PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question about pools

Laminarman
06-02-2015, 01:03 PM
I'm really quite new to this. As a matter of fact, the first bet I ever made was this year's derby, and hit for 3 grand on a trifecta. Obviously now I'm studying all I can. I use Twinspires. What is the deal with these players pools? Do folks usually use them? They have a 100,000 dollar one that will be hitting a variety of picks Thur through Sat. Thank you. I enjoy this forum. Don't flame me if this is a stupid question!

Ocala Mike
06-02-2015, 01:13 PM
Not a stupid question, but a stupid bet, in my opinion. My past experience the few times I participated was one outright loss and two "scores," where I think I got less than an even money return. Go it yourself - more fun and more profit potential.

DeltaLover
06-02-2015, 01:16 PM
I'm really quite new to this. As a matter of fact, the first bet I ever made was this year's derby, and hit for 3 grand on a trifecta.

So, you mean that your first bet ever was a $30 straight trifecta?

Interesting....

Lemon Drop Husker
06-02-2015, 01:16 PM
I'm really quite new to this. As a matter of fact, the first bet I ever made was this year's derby, and hit for 3 grand on a trifecta. Obviously now I'm studying all I can. I use Twinspires. What is the deal with these players pools? Do folks usually use them? They have a 100,000 dollar one that will be hitting a variety of picks Thur through Sat. Thank you. I enjoy this forum. Don't flame me if this is a stupid question!

Not a stupid question.

The "Pools" that you are referring to is a $100K pool in which you invest money that Twinspires experts make wagers for the investing public. If any of those wagers win, you'll get your proportionate share of the winnings.

It is a way for smaller players to get involved with large tickets spread across a number of horses for a relatively cheap price. Not many people play 4 and 5 figure tickets.