PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

chickenhead
05-22-2004, 12:55 PM
Hi Guys,
I'm still pretty new to handicapping, always found it fascinating, don't have as much time as I'd like to spend on it. I started to get a little more serious last year, read some books, Brohamer, Davidowitz, Beyer, Quinn, Quirin.....I've always just used paper and pencil up till a few months ago, I tried writing a simple Excel program, it grew to about 30MB quickly, and was just basically pretty unwieldy. I don't know any prog. languages, but if I try again I'll learn something, VB or Java...I understand fully now why programmers are suposed to design first, code second, I jumped in a little to quickly, ended up rewriting everything multiple times.

So my question, are there any reasonably inexpensive software out their that I could get just to fool around on, help me with ideas, etc? I see you guys discuss all sorts of programs here, but I don't know what they cost....can someone give me some ideas on what might be a good place to start?

sq764
05-22-2004, 01:00 PM
You'll hear a million different suggestions..

My suggestion is to play around with Excel and the Trackmaster data files.. You can manipulate the data any way you like and the biggest challenge is simply identifying the data fields..

chickenhead
05-22-2004, 01:06 PM
One thing I've never heard anyone talk about that stumped me a bit, how do you guys (pace guys) deal with overseas horses first time NA? If you're just laying top picks from your program, do you sit out any races where they appear, or do you somehow account for them within the program?

sjk
05-22-2004, 01:21 PM
I have had excellent success with Access. There are size limits but I have not outgrown it in over 10 years.